The organization was incorporated in 2012 and is led by a volunteer Board of Directors, with representatives from the entire Province. All involved have a deep passion for minor hockey and a strong commitment to ensure the success of Breakaway.


Working in partnership with Hockey NL, the Breakaway Foundation works to support the development of youth hockey, healthy lifestyles, and providing an opportunity for all kids to participate in hockey, regardless of financial situations.

Breakaway Foundation Events

Cocktail & Auctions Gala
Auction and Gala
Each year, the Breakaway Foundation and its Board of Directors host an exciting evening of entertainment to raise funds in support of its programs.  This fun filled, semi formal event is supported by our local NHL players and alumni, and is accompanied by a silent and live auctions and live music.

Golf Tournament
Started in 2015, the Breakaway Foundation has organized a golf tournament prior to the Hockey NL Fall Meetings at the Gander Golf Club. It’s a great opportunity for the Newfoundland and Labrador hockey community to support our great cause.


December 4, 2016
August 26, 2016

The Breakaway Foundation is pleased to announce that the winning ticket in the World Cup of Hockey ticket sweep was number 1051 and has been claimed by Peter Yablsey

June 16, 2016

Breakaway Foundation Inc. is pleased to announce our second annual fundraiser Gala and Auction.  On June 24, 2016, Breakaway and its Board of Directors are hosting an exciting evening of entertainment at The Fifth Ticket: keys + kitchen + bar at 171 Water Street in St. John’s.  This fun filled semi formal event will host special NHL guests, live music, two hour open bar of specialty drinks, and a fine selection of The Fifth Ticket’s cocktail food specialities. For tickets to the event please contact breawayfoundation@hockeynl.ca or by calling 687-8006.



Debbie Doyle – President
Joe Twyne – Vice President
Ray Fowler – Treasurer
Jennifer Mole – Secretary

Board of Directors

Gus Crane – Past President
Jack Lee –Hockey NL Liaison
Mary Power – Director at Large Avalon
Pam Whelan – Director at Large Eastern
Jared Butler – Director at Large Central
Arnold Kelly – Director at Large Labrador
Vacant – Director at Large Western
Seamus O’Keefe – Director at Large
Michael King – Director at Large
Kyle Downer – Director at Large